Group Admin Guide
If you've ever created a group in Workplace you're officially a group admin. Being a group admin means you're responsible for group settings, security, and content monitoring in the group you created. This guide will walk you through how to manage your Workplace groups so you can work better together.
1. Group details
You'll have different privacy considerations depending on what kind of group you're an admin of. Workplace has 3 different group privacy settings:
- Open: anyone can see the group, its members, and its posts.
- Closed: anyone can see the group and who's in it. Only members can see posts.
- Secret: only members can find the group, see who's in it, and see posts.
Announcement groups are typically kept open so people don't miss important information. Team and project groups are typically closed or secret so only relevant people can see posts and contribute. See the table below for an idea on how to structure groups and privacy settings.
Make sure to assign the group admin role to one or more group members. This ensures that someone can moderate the group while you're away.Group Name:
Make sure your group is easy to search for by giving it an intuitive name that clearly explains what the group is for. Examples include: “Marketing Team”, “Company Announcements”, “Help Center Feedback”, “Website Redesign Project”, “IT Q&A”.Group Description:
Add a description that provides group members with a clear understanding of what the group should be used for and who should be a member.
Add a Cover Photo:
Cover photos can set the tone for the group. Adding a photo of staff is great for team, announcement, and social groups. See the cover photo sizing guide for image dimensions.
2. Adding people
As a group admin, you can control how new members are approved to join the group in the Group Settings section of your Admin Options.
Open groups will be automatically set so anyone in your organization can join without needing to request access. You can change those settings to restrict membership approval to group members only or to group admins and moderators only. Closed and secret groups will be automatically set so all members can approve or invite new users. You can adjust those settings so only admins and moderators can approve new people.
Save time by automatically approving member requests by people from your other groups. If you're the admin of a project group, pre-approve the team group so all members can easily join.
System Admins can also assign people to groups using People Sets. See the Admin Guide for more information on People Sets.Manage Member Requests:
If your group is closed, you'll receive a notification when someone requests to join your group. Use these notifications to approve member requests. You can also access member requests from the Moderate Group section of your Admin Options.
You can turn off notifications for member requests but we don't recommend this. Turning off these notifications means you might miss member requests, and people will have to wait longer to join the group. If you do turn off these notifications, you'll still be able to handle requests from the group page.
3. Setting up integrations
As a group admin, you also have the ability to add integrations for your group members to use. File sharing integrations are great for any group, but they're especially important for your team, project, and cross-functional feedback groups. File sharing integrations make it easy to showcase what you're working on, and they're great for gathering feedback from others.
Media integrations are great for discussion groups. They allow people to easily share interesting news and engage with one another.
4. Managing content
Depending on the kind of group you're an admin of, you might want to limit who can make posts, or require posts be approved by an admin. Announcement groups and groups such as “Insights from Execs”, for example, will often limit posting capabilities so only important and relevant information is posted.Reported content:
As a group admin, it's your responsibility to manage member-reported content. When members report posts, story items, and comments, they'll appear in the Moderate Group section of your Admin Options. You can keep or delete posts and story items, as well as mute, remove or block the member who made them.Post topics:
Turn on Post Topics from your Group Settings and add relevant topics to your groups. You can also allow group members to create their own group topics. This gives group members the ability to add topics to their posts. Group topics help you organize discussions in your group page and allow group members to easily navigate to the content they're looking for. Once group topics are created, group members can find them in the right-hand menu of your group page on desktop or at the top of the group page on mobile. They'll be able to select specific topics and see all content that's been tagged with them.
5. Group insights
Group Insights offer three interactive dashboards you can use to monitor engagement. Each report is also downloadable so you can take a deeper look into how members are using the group.
- Growth Details: Track membership growth and group membership requests.
- Engagement Details: Measure posts, comments and reactions in a given period of time and see the most popular days and times that members engage. Also review the group's top posts.
- Member Details: See your top contributors.
Use this data to easily identify and connect with top contributors or schedule important executive posts for peak days and times. Since reporting is available for up to 60 days, you'll be able to track the impact of your actions and find out what works.
6. Archiving groups
Archive your group when it is no longer relevant or no longer being used. Archiving groups ensures search isn't cluttered so employees can easily find the active groups they're looking for. All content on the group page will still be accessible to group members after the group has been archived.
More helpful resources
- New User Guide - everything you need to get started as a new Workplace user.
- Workplace Academy - access live interactive training, self-paced courses, learning videos and more in the new Workplace Academy!
- Ways to Work - find more information on empowering your existing workflows by bringing them into Workplace.
- Help Center - to get step by step instructions and answers to FAQs.
- Workplace Communities - join to gain insights from other organizations that use Workplace.