User Guide

7 steps to getting started as a new Workplace user.

So, you're new to Workplace and you're not sure where to start. We're here to help.

Workplace can help you collaborate with your team, stay up to date and connect you with more people across your company. Follow these 7 steps to set up and start working better with Workplace.

1. Activate your profile

1. Activate your profile

Activating from email

If you have a company email address, look out for an email inviting you to join Workplace. Click on the link and follow the instructions to activate your profile. You can also download the directions to activate your profile here.

Workplace Email Invitation

Activating with an access code

If you don't have a company email, your employer probably supplied you with an access code. Follow these instructions to activate your profile:

  1. Go to the Workplace.com website and click on "Login" from the upper right hand corner. If accessing from mobile, select login from the menu at the top right.
  2. Select "Create an Account with an Access Code".
  3. Enter your access code.
  4. Set your username and create a unique password.
  5. Join groups and follow your colleagues

Download these instructions and share them with others at your organization.

Your organization might have more than one Workplace you can join. You’ll have a unique profile for each of these accounts and you’ll need to activate them separately.

2. Dowload the apps

2. Download the apps

The Workplace and Workplace Chat apps make it easy to stay connected to your team in and out of the office. Use the apps to communicate, hold meetings, and stay up-to-date on the go.

Workplace App:

Workplace Chat App:

3. Set up your profile

3. Set up your profile

Add a professional photo, a bio and your skills to increase your visibility and highlight your strengths.

Setting up your profile makes it easier for colleagues to find you. It can inform other people at Facebook on who they should talk to when they have important questions.

Workplace Email Invitation

4. Join and create groups

4. Join and create groups

Groups are communication and collaboration spaces that help you stay connected to the company, your coworkers and your team.

You might have already been added to some groups, and there are some you might want to join. Check to see which groups you've already been added to by looking under Groups in the left sidebar. Then, use the search bar to find other groups you might be interested in.


Groups discovery

Creating groups:

Anyone can create a Workplace group. Create a group for a project you're working on to centralize all of your communication, or create a 1:1 group with your manager to keep each other up to date. You can even create a social group to connect with people who share the same interests as you.

There are three different privacy settings for groups in Workplace

  • Open groups: Anyone can find an open group, see posts, and become a member. Social groups and company announcement groups are usually kept open.
  • Closed groups: Anyone can find a closed group but only members can see posts. You need to be invited or approved by an admin to join a closed group. This privacy setting works well for large teams and departments.
  • Secret groups: You have to be invited to join a secret group. Non-members can't find secret groups and won't be able to see any posts. Project groups and 1:1 groups are typically kept secret and members are added by admins as needed.


Group Creation

5. Manage your notifications

5. Manage your notifications

The more groups you become a member of, the more notifications you'll receive. But we know some notifications matter more than others. That's why we've made notifications flexible and easy to modify. Here are three steps you can take to manage your Workplace notifications:

Modify your notification settings

Click on your profile picture icon and select Settings. Then click on Notifications to edit how you receive notifications (in app and/or email) and what you get notified about.

Editing Notifications

Edit notifications from specific groups

Some groups won't require as much attention as your team and project groups. You can turn off notifications from these groups or set your notification settings to Highlights. Even if you turn off notifications for a particular group you'll still be notified about any posts you were @mentioned in, so you don't miss anything important.


Editing Group Notifications

Filter your notifications

Another way to manage your notifications is with notification filters. We recommend starting your day by first reading your Tags and Replies. These will keep you informed of any information that's most relevant to you. After that, switch to Unread to get caught up on everything else.

Notification filters

For more tips on managing your Workplace notifications, read this guide.

6. Explore Workplace Chat

6. Explore Workplace Chat

Workplace Chat is Workplace's instant messaging tool. It allows you to connect with your coworkers through text, video and audio calling.

You can start a chat with anyone and share files, images, GIFs and more. Or, jump on a quick audio or video call to get your questions answered fast.

Groups with 250 members or less can have their own chat too, so project and team communications are easy - even when you're in different countries.


Group chat conversation

7. Host a meeting

7. Host a meeting

Hosting meetings can get tricky when you have team members scattered across the country or around the world. Workplace makes it easy by having voice and video calling available with every chat.

You can start a video call with any individual or group by starting a chat conversation and adding the participants. Then, click on the video or audio icon at the top right of your screen.

Video call with multiple participants

You can learn more about organizing meetings using Workplace in this guide.

More helpful resources

More helpful resources

Education Kit

Downloadable materials that help you educate and engage your organization on Workplace