Get Connected with Workplace Rooms
In a world where more and more employees are working remotely, creating channels for employees to connect and interact face-to-face is increasingly important. Whether you’re hosting a virtual happy hour, holding team meetings, or just jumping on quick one-on-one calls with your colleagues, Workplace Rooms give you the flexibility, control, and reliability you need.
Workplace Rooms supports video calls with up to 50 participants, and getting them there is easy. Joinable links can be shared with anyone using Workplace Chat, group posts, even email and text message. Call creators can lock the room to prevent others from joining, keep it open for more spontaneous video calls., or remove participants who shouldn’t be on the call. And screen sharing on both group and one-on-one calls makes it easy to collaborate with your team in real-time.
Note: Workplace Rooms is coming soon.
How to do it in Workplace
You can create a room from Chat, Groups your News Feed or Workplace on Portal. When you create a room, you’ll see a joinable link you can send to your colleagues and people outside of your organization through Workplace Chat, group post, email and more. Share the link with anyone you’d like to connect with, they don’t need to have the Workplace app installed or even a Workplace account.
Share your screenShare your screen
Share your work with colleagues in real-time with screensharing. Any participant can share their screen, whether it's an application window, a browser tab or their whole screen, by clicking on the icon at the bottom left.
To view a shared screen, switch to primary speaker view at the top right. You’ll see all participants in the room on the right side of your screen. Click on the the person sharing their screen to pin their video.Lock a roomLock a room
Workplace Rooms can support calls with up to 50 participants. To limit the number of people in your room and to ensure only the right people join, call creators can lock the room by clicking on the second icon from the left at the bottom of your screen. Click on the lock icon to lock the room.
Remove participants from a roomRemove participants from a room
If needed, call creators can also remove participants at any point in the call by navigating to the See call participants icon and clicking Remove next to the participant’s name.
When to use Rooms vs. Workplace Chat video callsWhen to use Rooms vs. Workplace Chat Video Calls
Workplace Rooms is best for group calls. You can easily share your screen, hold calls with up to 50 people and can easily manage who can and cannot join a Room. Workplace chat video calls are best for quick syncs one to one with colleagues. You can call a colleague using Workplace Chat video calls by selecting the video icon at the top right of your chat with them.Benefits
- Hold meetings or virtual happy hours, coffee chats, and team lunches over video in Rooms.
- Meet with anyone, in or out of your organization. They don't even need a Workplace account.
- Share your screen to showcase your work and present to your team.
- Limit call participants by locking rooms or removing people who don't need to be there.
- Create a room directly from a group to reach the right people.
More helpful resources
- Hosting Meetings in Workplace: Learn how to plan for, host, document and broadcast your meetings in Workplace.
- Boost your Comms with Workplace Video Features: Learn how to use Workplace features to boost your internal comms strategy and improve communication across your organization.
- Work Faster with Workplace Chat: Whether you’re remote, frontline, or working from another office, Workplace Chat can help you work smarter and stay connected to your team.