How to use
Workplace Chat

Workplace Chat allows you to message colleagues in real-time, as well as send stickers, GIFs and emojis. You can switch from text to video at the touch of a button, or join your colleagues in group video calls.


Audience Employees |Time 6 min |Published 1st April 2020

How to use Workplace ChatHow to use Workplace Chat

Back to resource hub

How to use Workplace Chat

Workplace Chat allows you to message colleagues in real-time, as well as send stickers, GIFs and emojis. You can switch from text to video at the touch of a button, or join your colleagues in group video calls.

Accessing Workplace Chat

Chat is easily accessible in the left-hand navigation bar on the web version of Workplace. You’ll find it under ‘Notifications’ at the top.

You can also download the desktop app for PC or Mac.

On mobile, you can download the Workplace Chat app from your phone’s app store on Android or iOS.

Enable notifications to make sure you don’t miss an important message. On web, click on ‘Settings’ under the Search bar and select ‘Manage notification settings’ to do this. On mobile, click on your profile picture on the top left and select ‘notification settings’.

Using Workplace Chat

You can create chats with up to 250 people. Simply click on the ‘Create New Chat’ button then select one or more people to start a conversation. On mobile, select ‘Create a New Group’ to start a group conversation.

When you create a group on Workplace, you can automatically create a matching chat thread. This makes it easy to switch between detailed posts (in the group) and real-time discussion (in Chat).

Pin chat threads

You can pin any thread to the top of your chat list to keep your most important conversations front and center. On the web version, simply click on the menu bar of the chat conversation (that’s the three little dots side by side) under the timestamp and select ‘Pin Chat’.

On mobile, slide the conversation you want to pin to the right and click on the menu icon (the one that looks like a list) and select ‘Pin Chat’.

Messaging and replying on Chat

You can message one or more colleagues in a Chat, up to a total of 250 people. Alongside text messages, you can send GIFs, stickers, emojis, files and polls. On either side of the composer bar (where you write your message) you’ll see buttons to open up a selection screen for each of these options. Just click to either attach a file or browse stickers, emojis and GIFs.

To create a poll, click on the “+” button (web version) or the four dots (mobile version) on the left of the composer bar. You will see more options coming up. Select the “create a poll” icon on the far left and type your question, add the options and click on “Create Poll”. Your poll will be sent to everyone in that chat and your colleagues will be able to vote.

Reply to a message

You can reply to a specific message in a chat thread on the web version by hovering over it and clicking on the “reply” button. It’s the one that looks like an arrow pointing left.

On mobile, simply press on the message you want to reply to and select the arrow pointing left.

React to a message

If you want to leave an emoji icon underneath a message instead of a reply, hover over it again (or press on the message if you’re on mobile) and this time click on the emoji button. Then simply choose the reaction that fits your mood.

Save a message

If you see an important chat message that you’d like to save, you can do so by hovering over the message and clicking on the ‘Save’ icon (the one that looks like a bookmark). To go to your saved messages, click on the three dots next to the ‘unread’ button on the top left and select ‘saved messages’.

If you’re on mobile, press on the message you want to save and select ‘Save message’ from the menu at the bottom of the screen. See your saved messages by selecting your profile picture and going to ‘saved messages’.

Set a reminder

If you want to set a reminder to prompt you to come back to a message on the web version of Chat, click the three dots next to the ‘Reply’ button, then select ‘Remind me’.

Notify someone in a chat thread

There might be times when you need to grab somebody’s attention - for instance, if there’s a message they need to respond to or an action item with their name on it. In that case, you can mention them by typing ‘@’ before writing their name in the composer bar. Then just click on the profile name that automatically pops up.

When you mention someone, they'll receive a notification. Only people who are already in the group conversation can be mentioned in a message. You can turn off mention notifications at any time in Settings. On the web version of Chat, you can find Settings under the Search bar, on the left hand side of ‘Create New Chat’. On mobile, click on your profile picture and select ‘Notifications and sounds’.

Calling people on Workplace Chat

You can use Workplace Chat video calls to hold meetings with your team or jump on a quick 1:1 call with a colleague. You will see the video and voice calling icons at the top right-hand corner of every chat thread.

Both 1:1 and group video calls are available across the Workplace Chat desktop and mobile apps.

You can even connect to Workplace on Portal for a high quality audio and video experience. Portal is a video communications device with Smart Camera and Smart Sound. It allows you to feel more present while collaborating with your coworkers. Visit the Portal website to learn more.

Download the Google Chrome extension to share your screen on a video call. To learn how to share your screen after downloading the extension, click here.

Turning off Notifications and Active Status

You can turn off notifications on web by going to ‘Settings’ located under the Search bar and selecting ‘Manage Notification Settings’. You can find notification settings for Chat at the bottom of the page. On mobile, simply select your profile picture and go to ‘Notifications and sounds’.

You can also turn off your active status on Chat by going to ‘Settings’. People will still be able to message you, and you will see those messages in your inbox, but you won’t appear as active. On mobile, simply select your profile picture and go to ‘Active status’. To learn more about Active Status, visit here.

Turning on Do Not Disturb

You can activate Do Not Disturb to switch off Workplace notifications on both mobile and desktop, including Chat notifications. Simply go to your profile photo at the bottom of the left-hand navigation, click it once then select ‘Do Not Disturb’. Once you’ve clicked it, you can decide how long you want to be left alone for.

You can also set a custom message while you are away with the ‘Custom Status’ feature. Simply click on the smiley face icon on top of your profile photo at the bottom of the left-hand navigation.

On mobile, simply go to your profile picture on the top left hand corner of your screen and select ‘do not disturb’.

For more information on Workplace Chat, visit our Help Center.

Back to resource hub

-----