What are the stages of Workplace user account creation?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
There are 3 stages to creating a new user account in Workplace:
1. Provision: To create a user account within your Workplace instance (user isn't notified).
2. Invite: To allow a provisioned user to claim their account (user is notified).
3. Claim: An invited user activates their Workplace account.
Note: When manually creating individual accounts via the Admin Panel, users will be invited immediately — Provision + Invite happen at the same time. When using other account creation methods, Provision and Invite are different stages.
Until members are invited to use Workplace, they won't know that they have a provisioned account. When an account is in an uninvited state:
- The member can't claim their account and any attempts to do so will fail.
- The member won't receive any emails or other notifications from Workplace.
When you're ready for your members to be made aware that they have an account to claim, you'll invite them to Workplace. Once they're invited, members will receive an email inviting them to claim their account through a uniquely generated URL. For SSO-enabled accounts, members will also have the option of claiming by logging into Workplace through your configured SSO service.