Third-party Integrations

Third-party integrations connect Workplace with the other SaaS tools used in your organization. Third-party integrations must be enabled by a System Admin in the Admin Panel under the Integrations tab.

This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
Note: If you’re receiving a notification from Workplace regarding “integrations that haven't passed our updated Review Process”, learn more here.
Third-party integrations are integrations between Workplace and other SaaS tools. Third-party integrations are unique and can be found in groups and Workplace Chat. They offer the ability to easily share content in Workplace, receive automatic notifications or complete workflows.
Third-party integrations must be enabled by a System Admin in the Admin Panel under the Integrations tab. Once an integration is enabled, it will only be available for the groups identified by the System Admin.
You can see all third-party integrations by going to our Integration Directory.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
You can see all third-party integrations in our Integration Directory.
These integrations are made available only after entering into a contract with Facebook, passing a functional review by the Workplace team and passing a security audit by a third-party auditor.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced. Only a System Admin can enable and disable third-party integrations.
Third-party integrations are set up in the Admin Panel from the Integrations tab. Though each integration's functionality and access differs, the process to setup is as follows:
  1. Click the integration you want to add.
  2. Determine if all groups or select groups should have access to the integration.
  3. Review the permissions granted to the integration when enabled.
  4. Click Add.
  5. Complete authentication with the third-party app.
Was this information helpful?
When you request an integration, Workplace will notify system admins.
There are 2 ways to request an integration:
  1. Go to the Integrations tab from the Explore section of your profile, then click Request next to the desired integration.
  2. If you see a link to the following content app integrations, Workplace will give you the option to request the integration from the post. Workplace content app integrations include: Jira, Dropbox, SharePoint, Google Drive, Quip, Salesforce, Zoom, Bluejeans, SurveyMonkey and Box.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to admins on Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
Note: If you’re receiving a notification from Workplace regarding “integrations that haven't passed our updated Review Process”, learn more here.
System Admins are able to add, manage and remove integrations at any time. Reporting on Workplace integrations is available in the Admin Panel under Integrations > Permissions and Data. Here, an admin can view all integrations, see which groups they're enabled on, review permissions, export API activity logs and disable the integrations at any time.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Advanced.
Note: If you’re receiving a notification from Workplace regarding “integrations that haven't passed our updated Review Process”, learn more here.
To remove a Custom Integration's access to your group's information and members:
  1. From your computer, go to the group you're an admin of, then click More below your cover photo > Integrations. You'll see a section for Enabled Integrations which will include the Custom Integrations that have been enabled within this group by a group admin.
  2. Click the integration you want to remove, and a dialog will appear.
  3. On the dialog, click remove. The integration will be removed and will no longer have access to the content within your group or the member list of your group.
Was this information helpful?
Troubleshooting
Starting September 1, 2019, you may have received notifications on Workplace telling you that some integrations require your attention.
These integrations have been disabled by Workplace automatically because the developer who operates them has not passed the required Workplace reviews, and you have not yet opted in to continue to use them.
You can opt-in and continue to use them until December 16, 2019. To do so, please:
  1. Go to Admin Panel > Integrations.
  2. Click on the integration you would like to continue to use.
  3. On the Integration details page, switch off the Disabled toggle on the right hand side.
For more information regarding safer integrations on Workplace, please visit the Customer Resource Center page.
Note: If the developer who operates the integration has not passed the required Workplace reviews by December 16, 2019, the integration will be disabled.
Was this information helpful?