How do I delete a person's Workplace Advanced account?

This article is only applicable to admins on Workplace Advanced.
You must be an admin to delete a person's Workplace account.
To delete accounts that have never been claimed:
  1. Go to your Admin Panel then click People.
  2. Click next to the name of the employee whose account you'd like to delete.
  3. Click Delete Account.
To delete accounts that have been claimed (even if it's later been switched to unclaimed), you'll need to contact Workplace Support to request that the account be deleted.
Keep in mind that deleting an account isn't the same as deactivating an account. If you'd like to deactivate an employee's account, follow these steps.
Note: If you delete an employee's Workplace account:
  • Your coworkers won't be able to see the account on Workplace.
  • It may take up to 90 days to delete all of the things the person has posted to be deleted.
  • Any content from other users that is dependent on the deleted users' content (example: comments on the deleted users' posts) will also be deleted.
  • While we're deleting this information, it will be inaccessible to other people using Workplace.
  • Some of the things people do on Workplace aren’t stored in their accounts. For example, a coworker may still have messages from the deleted person even after you delete their account.
  • Users will be forced out of groups and their admin privileges will be lost. Keep in mind that if you choose to reactivate the user account within 14 days of deletion, their admin privileges will be restored.
Was this information helpful?