Create a Group
To create a group:
  1. To the left of your News Feed, click Create Group under the Groups header.
  2. Pick a group type and fill in your group name.
  3. Choose the privacy setting for your group then click Next.
  4. Select the coworkers you'd like to add to the group then click Add to group or click Skip if you don't want to add anyone to the group right now.
You'll still be able to add coworkers to your group after it's created.
Note: If you're an admin on Workplace, you can create multiple groups at once by clicking Groups from your Admin Panel, and then clicking Create Multiple Groups. You'll then have the option to create groups with a spreadsheet or to create groups from an email list.
Keep in mind that once you create a group you'll automatically become the admin of that group.
Was this information helpful?
There are 3 privacy options for groups: Open, Closed and Secret. The table below shows who can join these groups and what people can see about them.
OpenClosedSecret
Who can join?Anyone from your company can join or be added or invited by a memberAnyone from your company can ask to join or be added or invited by a memberAnyone, but they have to be added or invited by a member
Who can see the group's name?Anyone from your companyAnyone from your companyCurrent and former members
Who can see who's in the group?Anyone from your companyAnyone from your companyOnly current members
Who can see the group description?Anyone from your companyAnyone from your companyCurrent and former members
Who can see the group tags?Anyone from your companyAnyone from your companyCurrent and former members
Who can see what members post in the group?Anyone from your companyOnly current membersOnly current members
Who can find the group in search?Anyone from your companyAnyone from your companyCurrent and former members
Who can see group events?Anyone from your companyOnly current membersOnly current members
Who can see stories about the group on Workplace (like in News Feed and search)?Anyone from your companyOnly current membersOnly current members
Note: If you're using Workplace Advanced, community admins have access to all content on Workplace, including secret groups.
Was this information helpful?
When you create a group you have the option to choose a group type. Group types help organize your groups section.
You can choose from:
  • Teams & Projects: Share and discuss updates with your team or project. This group type has an automatically synced chat attached to it, and is closed by default. T&P groups have a group member limit of 250 people. There are no group moderators in this group type, only group admins. Automated group membership isn't allowed.
  • Open Discussions: Give feedback on projects, products or other initiatives.
  • Announcements: Share company events, updates to policies or other company wide announcements. Announcement groups have notifications switched on for all users, regardless of member count.
  • Social & More: Get to know your coworkers in groups for sports, hobbies or other social activities.
  • Multi-Company Groups: Allow people from multiple organizations to collaborate. MCGs can be secret or closed. You can invite people from other companies to multi-company groups.
Was this information helpful?
Group admins can decide who is able to post into their group and whether posts need to be individually approved by an admin or moderator.
Posting permissions can be given to:
  • Group admins only.
  • All group members.
  • Anyone within your organization, even if they aren’t a member of your group.
If you’d like anyone to be able to post in your group without joining, it will need to be an open group.
Change posting permissions for your group
To change posting permissions for your group:
  1. Click below the group's cover photo.
  2. Click Admin options.
  3. Click Group settings.
  4. Under Posting permissions, select Anyone within [your instance], Anyone in the group or Admins only.
Require admin or moderator approval for all new posts
To make it so that all new posts will need to be approved before being seen by other group members:
  1. Click below the group's cover photo.
  2. Click Admin options.
  3. Click Group settings.
  4. Tick the box next to Post approval.
Was this information helpful?