Creating New Users
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
There are 3 stages to creating a new user account in Workplace:
1. Provision: To create a user account within your Workplace instance (user isn't notified).
2. Invite: To allow a provisioned user to claim their account (user is notified).
3. Claim: An invited user activates their Workplace account.
Note: When manually creating individual accounts via the Admin Panel, users will be invited immediately — Provision + Invite happen at the same time. When using other account creation methods, Provision and Invite are different stages.
Until members are invited to use Workplace, they won't know that they have a provisioned account. When an account is in an uninvited state:
  • The member can't claim their account and any attempts to do so will fail.
  • The member won't receive any emails or other notifications from Workplace.
When you're ready for your members to be made aware that they have an account to claim, you'll invite them to Workplace. Once they're invited, members will receive an email inviting them to claim their account through a uniquely generated URL. For SSO-enabled accounts, members will also have the option of claiming by logging into Workplace through your configured SSO service.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
Provisioning users allows administrators to upload user account information and set up Workplace instances without notifying users. By giving invited and uninvited (provisioned) members separate statuses, we allow Workplace administrators to provision members in advance and to invite them when ready.
Workplace administrators can get their communities started by creating groups and adding provisioned members to them. Once the administrator is done getting started, they can invite the members to Workplace, and those users will already be part of relevant groups upon signing into their accounts for the first time.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Advanced and Workplace Enterprise.
Individual Account Creation
When you create individual accounts, they'll be immediately invited.
Bulk Account Creation
When creating accounts through Bulk Account Management, you'll be prompted upon each upload if you'd like to invite the accounts right away or later. If you select later, the accounts will be created in an uninvited state and will need to be invited at a later point.
G Suite or Microsoft Azure AD (Automatic Account Management)
When connecting G Suite or Microsoft Azure AD as Automatic Account Management, you'll be prompted to have accounts invited when created or later. If you select to have them invited later, accounts will be created in an uninvited state. After inviting all accounts with the Invite All button, the configuration will change and newly created accounts will be invited immediately.
Other Cloud Identity Providers or Active Directory Sync Component
When connecting another cloud identity provider (Okta, OneLogin, or Ping Identity) or using the Active Directory Sync Component, accounts will be created in an uninvited state by default. After inviting all accounts with the Invite All button, the configuration will change and newly created accounts will be invited immediately.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to admins of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
You can invite user accounts by inviting all, inviting selected people or inviting an individual.
Invite All
Using this option will prompt you to customize the claim email, after which all uninvited members will be invited. To invite all:
  1. Click Admin Panel at the top left of Workplace.
  2. Click Unsent Invitations.
  3. Click Invite All.
Invite Selected People
Using this option will allow you to invite a specific group of people. To invite a specific group of people:
  1. Click Admin Panel at the top left of Workplace.
  2. Click Unsent Invitations.
  3. Click Choose people to invite.
  4. A pop-up will ask you for a list of members you'd like to invite in the following file formats: .csv, .vcf, .txt or LDAP. If you require a template, you can download one from the pop-up.
  5. Click Import File to upload the file. You'll be given the option via a prompt to customize the claim email, after which the members will be invited.
Invite an Individual
Use this option to invite an individual or to resend an invitation to a user who didn't receive their initial invitation. To invite an individual or resend an invitation:
  1. Click Admin Panel at the top left of Workplace.
  2. Click People.
  3. Find the user in the list. You can search for the user by using the search box.
  4. Select Invite next to the name of the individual you'd like to invite.
  5. A pop-up will give you the option to personalize the invite. If you choose to add any text to the email, you'll be shown a preview; otherwise, Workplace will use its default content.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Advanced.
Once invited, users will need to go through a claim process to check or provide information about their profile and set a password. Employees start this process by receiving an email from Workplace which contains their unique claim URL, or by navigating to the sign-in page (SSO-enabled companies only) once they've been invited.
Note: If your company has enabled SSO for your community, members will first be asked to log into your SSO system before they can start the claim process.
Once accessed, Workplace will take members through the following steps to complete their registration:
1. Accept terms and confirm profile details
Depending on your Admin Panel settings, members may be asked to accept your company's Terms of Use, as well as check, complete or amend their profile details and set a profile picture.
2. Set a password
Members will be asked to set a password. This stage is omitted for SSO-enabled communities.
3. Select default groups
Members will be able to choose groups to become members of from a default selection, or search for a specific group. They'll then be taken to News Feed and will be able to start using Workplace immediately.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
You may wish to obtain a claim link to offer your coworkers an additional claim method. For example, you may want to deliver invites in print format, via a company wide SMS gateway, or via a personalized email from a manager/C-level manager to employees as a followup to the system-generated Workplace email.
Exporting claim links allows you distribute them 1-by-1 or in bulk alongside other coworkers' information. Claim links can be obtained by downloading a CSV file containing an export of employee information. To obtain claim links:
1. From your Admin Panel, click the People tab.
2. Click then click Export Employee Information.
3. You'll shortly receive an email which will link to a CSV file containing all coworkers' data, including the claim links for each unclaimed account which has already been invited.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
Look into using our invite process. It will allow you to provision users in advance of inviting them to use Workplace. Uninvited user accounts cannot be claimed and receive no emails, however they can be treated as any other user account normally, such as being added to groups or being tagged. More information is available on this page.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
You will need to ensure that users have been invited as well as created. You can find more details on that process here.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to admins on Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
2 claim reminder emails are sent after the initial invitation to Workplace: the first is a 3-day reminder, and the second is a 5-day reminder.
Was this information helpful?