News Feed and Timeline
News Feed
News Feed stories can include status updates, photos, videos, links, comments and likes. The stories that are shown in your News Feed are determined by several factors, including:
  • Posts in groups you're a member of.
  • Timeline posts from people you follow.
If you run out of content to display on your News Feed, you might also see recommendations for open groups to join and trending posts from the group.
Your previous activity on Workplace can also influence the stories in your News Feed. For example, if you've liked or commented on photos in the past, you may be more likely to see photos in your News Feed.
Was this information helpful?
You can unfollow or hide people and stories from your News Feed. If you hide a story from your News Feed, you'll be less likely to see similar stories in your News Feed in the future.
To hide a story [or a person]:
  1. Click in the top right of the post.
  2. Select Hide post or Hide all from [name].
Note: If you're not seeing posts in News Feed that you'd like to see, you can join more groups or follow more people.
Was this information helpful?
Sometimes a post that you've already seen will move to the top of your News Feed if one of your coworkers has liked or commented on it. This helps you see posts that are important to you and that your coworkers are interacting with the most.
Was this information helpful?
Trending Posts appears in the top right of your Workplace homepage. It shows you a list of popular posts, relevant topics and important information being discussed. Posts that appear in the trending section are based on the amount of likes and comments a post receives on Workplace.
Was this information helpful?
You can turn Workplace's video auto-play settings on or off.
To stop videos from playing automatically on your computer:
  1. Click on your profile picture in the bottom left of Workplace > click Settings.
  2. Click Videos.
  3. Click the dropdown menu next to Auto-Play Videos and select Off.
Was this information helpful?
To better focus on your News Feed, you can temporarily hide the panels on the left and right of your Workplace.
The left panel contains your most used groups, recent chats and notifications. To hide this panel:
  1. Go to either your Workplace News Feed, chats or a group.
  2. Hover over the left panel and click .
The right panel can contain upcoming events, suggested groups and trending posts from your organization. When you are looking at a group or chat, the right panel changes to show recent activity and group descriptions. To hide this panel:
  1. Go to either your Workplace News Feed, chats or a group.
  2. Hover over the right panel and click .
To reopen either panel, click the relevant icon a second time.
Default view
The current state of your left or right panels will only last as long as your current session. If you open Workplace in a new tab, both panels will be open again.
Was this information helpful?
You can hide comments that you don’t want to see. Hidden comments disappear for you but are still visible to others.
To hide a comment:
  1. Hover over the comment.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Hide comment.
If you think the comment shouldn’t be there at all, you can also report it to your admins.
Deleting comments as a group admin or moderator
Group admins and moderators can delete comments on posts within the groups they manage.
To delete a comment:
  1. Hover over the comment.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Delete.
Deleting comments as a system admin
System admins don’t have permission to delete comments by default. If a system admin wants to delete a comment, they will first need to become a group admin for the relevant group.
To make yourself a group admin:
  1. Go to the Admin Panel.
  2. Click Groups.
  3. Click next to the group you would like to administrate.
  4. Click Join as admin or Make me admin.
Note: Being the creator of a post does not enable you to delete comments on it. comments can only be deleted by an admin of the group that your post is in.
Was this information helpful?

Timeline
You can save and bookmark some of the things you see on Workplace to view later, like the links or videos your coworkers post, upcoming events, groups or photos.
To save something you see on Workplace:
  • From your News Feed: Click and then select Save Post or Save Video.
  • From a Group: Click and then select Save Post or Save Video.
  • From an event: Click and then select Save Event.
  • From a chat: Hover over a message then click .
Note: When you save a post, you can choose to add it to a new or existing collection. A collection allows you to organize your saved posts into topics.
Was this information helpful?
To access your saved posts and messages, click Saved under Explore at the left of your Workplace News Feed.
Note: You may need to click See More to find the button.
Was this information helpful?
To delete a comment you posted:
  1. Click .
  2. Select Delete...
  3. Click Delete.
To edit a comment you posted:
  1. Click .
  2. Select Edit...
  3. Make your changes and then press Enter.
Note: Anyone who can see your comment can click Edited to view the comment's history.
Was this information helpful?
To edit a post you've shared:
  1. Click in the top right of your post.
  2. Click Edit Post.
  3. Make your changes and then click Save.
If you've added photos as part of your post, you can also delete a photo without deleting the entire post:
  1. Click in the top right of your post.
  2. Click Edit Post.
  3. Hover over the photos you'd like to delete and click x in the top right.
  4. Click Save.
Keep in mind that you won't be able to delete photos from a post you've shared from a third-party app. You also won't be able to upload files or change files that you've already uploaded after you've published your post.
Was this information helpful?
  1. At the bottom of the post on your timeline, click Share.
  2. Click the drop-down menu at the top of the new post and select whether you'd like to share to your timeline, group, event or private message.
  3. Choose the group, event or person you'd like to share the post with.
  4. Click Post or Send.
Keep in mind that sharing a post won't delete it from your timeline. If you'd like to delete the post from your timeline, you'll have to do that manually.
Was this information helpful?
To write multilingual posts on Workplace, you need to turn the multilingual option on and to be logged into Workplace from your computer.
To turn multilingual posts on:
  1. From your profile, click Settings > Language.
  2. Click Edit on Multilingual Posts, select Write posts in more than one language and then click Save Changes.
To write multilingual posts:
  1. Start writing your post.
  2. To write the post in another language, click Write post in another language.
  3. Next to Language, click Select, then type to search which language you'd like to type in.
  4. Write in your requested language in the new section of your post.
Was this information helpful?