What's the difference between provisioning and inviting accounts on Workplace?

This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
Provisioning users allows administrators to upload user account information and set up Workplace instances without notifying users. By giving invited and uninvited (provisioned) members separate statuses, we allow Workplace administrators to provision members in advance and to invite them when ready.
Workplace administrators can get their communities started by creating groups and adding provisioned members to them. Once the administrator is done getting started, they can invite the members to Workplace, and those users will already be part of relevant groups upon signing into their accounts for the first time.