Custom Integrations
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
With custom integrations for Workplace, it's now possible to build powerful bots that can interact with people in groups and chat. Read about how to build bots.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
If your organization uses Workplace Advanced, your community admins may have enabled one or more integrations that provide a bot that you can interact with via Workplace Chat. Bots provide a range of functionality: they may send you timely notifications, let you check your annual leave balance, help you book meetings, set up conference calls, give feedback, create tasks and more. The exact functionality depends on which bots your Workplace Advanced admin has enabled.
Bots in Workplace Chat aren't available to people using Workplace Standard at this time.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
Bots in Workplace Chat only have the ability to read the following:
  • The messages sent directly between you and the bot.
  • The messages in the group chat thread where the bot has been added as a participant.
Your Workplace Advanced admin is in control of the integrations that have been enabled in your Workplace community. Some of the integrations, such as those focused on security or compliance, may have access to your messages if approved by your admin. If you have questions about what information your Workplace admins can view and who has access to it, please contact your Workplace Advanced admin.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
When you message a bot, you're messaging an application built by someone in your organization or built by a third party.
The developers of that application will have access to the conversation between you and the bot. When you add a bot to a group chat, the developers of the application will have access to the whole group chat thread - just as any person would if you added them to the group chat.
If you want to know more about how an application is using that information, you should read the Privacy Policy and Terms of Use provided by the developers of the application. You can access these terms by going to the Integrations tab in your Admin Panel, and clicking the integration you want to know more about. If the integration was built by a third party, the dialog will contain links to that integration's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. If the integration was built by your organization, you'll need to contact your Workplace Advanced admin to find out how this information is being used.
Keep in mind that as with all your content on Workplace Advanced, your Workplace admin may be able to see the content you post, or messages you send or receive — this includes messages you exchange with a bot.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
If your organization uses Workplace Advanced, your Workplace admins may have enabled one or more integrations that provide a bot that you can interact with via Workplace Chat. These bots may provide a range of functionality: they may message you with timely notifications, or let you book meetings, create tasks or book annual leave. The exact functionality depends on the particular chat bots your admin has enabled.
If you have questions about the bots that are enabled for your Workplace community, please contact your Workplace Advanced admin.
Was this information helpful?
This article is only applicable to users of Workplace Essential and Workplace Advanced.
You can't block people within your organization from sending you messages on Workplace Chat. This includes bots. You can, however mute notifications from people or bots. To do this:
  1. Go to Workplace Chat.
  2. Select the conversation with the bot you want to mute notifications for.
  3. Click on the gear menu to the right.
  4. Select Mute. You can choose to mute notifications for a period of time, or indefinitely.
Was this information helpful?