What happens if I change the permissions on a file stored in a cloud storage service?

If you change the permission of the file from private/accessible to some to public to everyone at your company:
  • For users of Workplace Advanced:
Since the file wasn't public to everyone when you originally made the post, people will only see the icon of the file type and they'll be prompted to confirm they have permission to view the file. Only people who have permission will then be able to see the preview and access the file. If you change the permission to public, nothing will change in the preview, but everyone will be able to access the file.
  • For users of Workplace Essential:
Only coworkers who have permission and have enabled integration will be able to see the preview and access the file. If you change the permission to public, nothing changes in the preview, but everyone will be able to access the file. If a coworker hasn't enabled the integration, they'll have the choice to enable the integration and see previews going forward.
If you change the permission of the file from public so that everyone at your company can access the file, to private/accessible by some:
  • For users of Workplace Advanced:
Since the file is public to everyone at the time the post is made, everyone will see a preview and/or title. If you change the permission to private/accessible by some, previews that show images remain the same since they were captured at the moment you first made the post. However, only people who have permission will be able to access the file when they click on the link. Users may be prompted to log in to the cloud services provider.
  • For users of Workplace Essential:
Same as above if integrations are enabled.
Was this information helpful?